The Fishing and Marine Industry Daily News Feed

AMFF Announces Recipient of the 2022 Izaak Walton Award

Manchester, VT – The American Museum of Fly Fishing is proud to announce Paul Bruun as the 2022 Izaak Walton Award honoree. Paul’s many contributions to the sport of fly fishing include his roles as writer, guide, industry trailblazer, mentor, conservationist, historian, innovator, humorist, and humanitarian.

He is a renowned Wyoming float-trip outfitter and guide, and has penned his weekly “Outdoors” column in the Jackson Hole News and Guide since 1973. He was the founding editor and co-publisher of the Jackson Hole Daily newspaper, as well as a three-term town councilman affectionately known as the “Fishin’ Politician.”

During the early 1980s, he and partner Ralph Headrick introduced the South Fork Skiff, the first fiberglass, high-performance, low-profile drift boat designed for fly fishing western rivers. In addition, he worked as an advisor for Orvis and Simms.

Still a Patagonia ambassador today, he was retained as their original fly-fishing consultant and wrote the lead article in the first Patagonia catalog to introduce fly-fishing products in the mid-1980s. Paul’s “Classics” column appears quarterly in TU’s TROUT magazine. He continues to be a conservation advocate, as demonstrated by his role as the founding fishing outfitter member of the Snake River Fund.

Paul has never sought the spotlight, but his wisdom, expertise, and dedication to both the sport of fly fishing and the natural world make him a truly worthy honoree. “From conservation issues to product development, from writing on the pastime to guiding others on Wyoming waters, Paul continues to share his insight, born from decades of participation and practical application. We are thrilled to be recognizing his achievements” said AMFF President Fred Polhemus.

We are excited to bring together a group of wonderful individuals to celebrate Paul’s accomplishments and contributions to the sport of fly fishing through candid stories and shared memories. The guests for our evening presentation who will be joining Paul are; Captain Rick Ruoff and Yvon Chouinard in Wyoming; Cary Kresge and Captain Steve Huff in Florida, and AMFF President Fred Polhemus from the Museum’s main campus in Manchester, Vermont.

The Izaak Walton Award was established in 2014 to honor and celebrate individuals who live by the Compleat Angler philosophy. Their passion for the sport of fly fishing and involvement in their angling community provides inspiration for others and promotes the legacy of leadership for future generations.

Past Izaak Walton Award recipients include:

  • 2021 Paul Dixon
  • 2020 Flip Pallot
  • 2019 Tom Rosenbauer
  • 2018 Rachel Finn
  • 2017 Jim Klug
  • 2016 James Prosek
  • 2015 Tom Davidson
  • 2014 Ed Jaworowski

The event will be held via Zoom on Thursday evening, June 30, 2022 at 8PM EST/6PM MST/5PM PST.

An online auction will run from June 16-30.

Keep your finger on the fishing industry pulse

The Definititive News Source of the Fishing & Marine Industry