ICAST Announces 37 New Product Showcase “Best of Category” Winners for 2023

Orange County Convention Center, Orlando, Fl. —  Astronaut Mike Massimino captivated a sold-out State of the Industry Breakfast with tales of space shuttle flights and interstellar telescope repairs as the recreational sportfishing industry’s largest trade show officially blasted off from the Orange County Convention Center on Wednesday.

“Mike Massimino was rejected by NASA three times before he became an astronaut,” said St. Croix Rods V.P. of Sales & Marketing, Jeff Schluter. “For our industry, it was an inspirational message of overcoming obstacles and sticking together to work as a team.”

Massimino’s inspiring stories of unity in space started a countdown clock to one of the most anticipated events at the annual trade show hosted by the American Sportfishing Association—the ICAST Industry Awards Reception. After a jam-packed day of activities on a show floor bustling with thousands of retailers, media members and exhibitors, the votes were tallied for the ICAST’s prestigious “Best of Category” awards. From a field of 1,087 new products representing 292 companies, 37 winners were crowned.

“Winning an award at ICAST puts a product on the map,” said Westin Fishing COO, Thomas Sonotra, who traveled from Denmark to attend the show and will fly back across the Atlantic as a winner. “To get exposure at a show like this really shows that your team has done something remarkable. A lot of hours go behind each product from field testing to making sure that what you design is super unique and capable of competing against tough competition.”

This year’s New Product Showcase featured a bonanza of products ranging from bass boats to personal watercraft, cutting-edge tackle and groundbreaking electronics. Now, after a full day of voting and analysis by an audience of peers, these category winners are left standing. On Thursday, Best of Category winners will go head-to-head to determine an overall ICAST 2023 Best of Show:

Best of Fishing Lifestyle

Novelties and Wellness
Product: The GoMist Drink and Misting Bottle | ExtremeMist Personal Cooling Systems
Contact: Devin Holmgren marketing@extrememist.com

Motorized Boating Accessories
Product: PowerPole Move ZR | Power-Pole®
Contact: Curt Hill curt@power-pole.com

Non-Motorized Boating Accessory
Product: BOTE WATER HAMMOCK | BOTE
Contact: Suzy Hunt suzy@boteboard.com

Boats and Watercraft
Product: Old Town Sportsman BigWater ePDL + 132 | Johnson Outdoors Watercraft, Inc.
Contact: Alex Sherbino alex.sherbino@johnsonoutdoors.com

Footwear
Product: Ankle Deck Boots – Black | AFTCO
Contact: Denny Le denny@aftco.com

Ice Fishing
Product: LiveScope™ Plus Ice Fishing Bundle LI with ECHOMAP™ UHD2 93sv | Garmin USA
Contact: Carly Hysell carly.hysell@garmin.com

Eyewear
Product: King Tide 8, Black 580G Blue Mirror | Costa Sunglasses
Contact: Hannah Trotter hannah_ext@verdepr.com

Lifestyle Apparel for Women
Women’s Coverup Dress | Huk Performance Fishing
Contact: Bobby Lader  blader@marolina.com

Lifestyle Apparel for Men
Ocean Bound Hooded Performance Shirt | AFTCO
Denny Le denny@aftco.com

Warm Weather Technical Apparel for Women
Product: Mojeaux 1/4 Zip Performance Shirt | AFTCO
Denny Le denny@aftco.com

Warm Weather Technical Apparel for Men
Product: Channel Hooded Performance Shirt | AFTCO
Denny Le denny@aftco.com

Cold Weather Technical Apparel for Women
Product: Women’s Barricade Rain Suit | AFTCO
Denny Le denny@aftco.com

Cold Weather Technical Apparel for Men
Product: Gale Pullover | Blackfish Gear
Contact: Addy Hansen ahansen@clamcorp.com

Best of General Tackle

Soft and Hard Coolers
Product: Flop Box 10 | Flop Industries
Contact: Kyle Dougherty Kyle@divebombindustries.com

Electronics
Product: Westin EscapeCam | Westin Fishing
Contact: Michael Trost mtr@fairpoint.dk

Cutlery, Hand Plies or Tools
Product: BUBBA Pro Series Smart Fish Scale | BUBBA
Contact: Matt Kinamore mkinamore@aob.com

Fishing Accessory
Product: ENGEL USB Rechargeable Lithium-Ion XL Live Bait Aerator Pump | ENGEL Coolers
Contact: Chris Holloway chris@engelcoolers.com

Kids’ Tackle
Product: ProFISHiency Next Gen Crazy Combo | Anything Possible Brands
Contact: Amanda Rispoli arispoli@anythingpossible.com

Tackle Management
Product: Pontoon Boat Tackle Center | Boat Outfitters
Contact: Jared Walton jwalton@teakisle.com

Terminal Tackle
Product: VMC Swingin’ Ned Rig Jig | Rapala
Contact: Matt Jensen matt.jensen@rapalavmc.com

Custom Tackle and Components
American Tackle Tsuka 2 Complete Carbon Handle | American Tackle Company
Contact: Kevin Landers Kevin@americantackle.us

Fishing Line
Product: Mastiff Fluorocarbon | Shimano
Contact: Cory Van Auken cory@darbycommunications.com

Best of Fly Fishing

Fly Fishing Waders & Wading Boots
Product: G4Z Stockingfoot Wader | Simms Fishing Products
Contact: John Frazier John.frazier@simmsfishing.com

Fly Lines, Leaders, Tippet and Line Accessories
Product: BUZBE Colony 8T (THIN) | BUZBE
Contact: Caleb Sutton Caleb@buzbe.com

Fly Fishing Packs, Bags & Luggage
Product: Flyweight Vest Pack | Simms Fishing Products
John Frazier John.frazier@simmsfishing.com

Fly Fishing Technical Apparel and Accessories
Product: Master M6014 Edition | Renzetti, Inc.
Contact: Lilly Renzentti Lilly@renzetti.com

Fly Fishing Reel
Product: Cheeky Spray Fly Reel | Cheeky Fishing
Contact: Peter Vandergrift pvandergrift@northpointbrands.com

Fly Fishing Rod
Product: Hardy Marksman Z | Pure Fishing, Inc.
Contact: Kimberly Hoffman Kimberly.hoffman@purefishing.com

Best of Lures

Freshwater Soft Lure
Product: Berkley PowerBait Nessie | Pure Fishing, Inc.
Contact: Kimberly Hoffman Kimberly.hoffman@purefishing.com

Saltwater Soft Lure
Product: Mulletron LT (Line Through) Swimbait | Z-Man Fishing Products
Contact: Cory Schmidt cschmidt@zmanfishing.com

Freshwater Hard Lure
Product: ChatterBait Elite EVO | Z-Man Fishing Products
Contact: Cory Schmidt cschmidt@zmanfishing.com

Saltwater Hard Lure
Product: MIrrOlure The Duke Dog | L&S Bait Company
Contact: Michael Tennian mtennian1@tampabay.rr.com 

Best of Rods

Freshwater Rod
Product: St. Croix Mojo Bass TRIGON | St. Croix Rods
Contact: Josh Lantz joshl@stcroixrods.com

Saltwater Rod
Product: NRX+ Inshore | Shimano
Contact: Cory Van Auken cory@darbycommunications.com

Rod & Reel Combo
Product: Abu Garcia ZATA Baitcast Combo | Pure Fishing, Inc.
Contact: Kimberly Hoffman Kimberly.hoffman@purefishing.com

Best of Reels

Freshwater Reel
Product: Stradic FM | Shimano
Contact: Cory Van Auken cory@darbycommunications.com

Saltwater Reel
Product: Seapower 1200 | Daiwa Corporation
Contact: Chip Cone chipc@daiwa.com

About

The American Sportfishing Association (ASA) is the sportfishing industry’s trade association committed to representing the interests of the sportfishing and boating industries as well as the entire sportfishing community. We give the industry and anglers a unified voice when emerging laws and policies could significantly affect sportfishing business or sportfishing itself. ASA invests in long-term ventures to ensure the industry will remain strong and prosperous, as well as safeguard and promote the enduring economic, conservation and social values of sportfishing in America. ASA also gives America’s 55 million anglers a voice in policy decisions that affect their ability to sustainably fish on our nation’s waterways through Keep America Fishing, our national angler advocacy campaign. America’s anglers generate nearly $50 billion in retail sales with a $125 billion impact on the nation’s economy creating employment for 800,000 people.

Keep your finger on the fishing industry pulse

The Definititive News Source of the Fishing & Marine Industry