The Fishing and Marine Industry Daily News Feed

Nancy Zakon To Receive The 2023 Izaak Walton Award

AMFF announces Nancy Zakon to receive the 2023 Izaak Walton Award, online on March 13 at 8:00PM EST, followed by a celebratory reception on March 14 at the Key Largo Anglers Club. The Zoom portion will be the story-telling stage for some of our greatest female pioneers:

  • Mary Bloom
  • Fanny Krieger
  • Sara Low
  • Lori-Ann Murphy
  • Joan Wulff

Nancy, as past President of the International Women’s Fly Fishers, instructor in Orvis’ first women’s flyfishing schools, a designer of Orvis’ first women’s flyfishing gear, founder of Juliana’s Anglers and Sporting Club of New York City, and Bonefish Bonnies of Key Largo, FL, has been a trailblazer for women in fly fishing.

The American Museum of Fly Fishing established the Izaak Walton Award in 2014 to honor and celebrate individuals who live by the Compleat Angler philosophy. Their passion for the sport of fly fishing and involvement in their angling community provides inspiration for others and promotes the legacy of leadership for future generations. Past winners include:

  • 2022 – Paul Bruun
  • 2021 – Paul Dixon
  • 2020 – Flip Pallot
  • 2019 – Tom Rosenbauer
  • 2018 – Rachel Finn
  • 2017 – Jim Klug
  • 2016 – James Prosek
  • 2015 – Tom Davidson
  • 2014 – Ed Jaworowski

We hope you will save the dates and plan to join us virtually, in person, or both! Further details to follow in the new year, but if you have any immediate questions, please email us at

Keep your finger on the fishing industry pulse

The Definititive News Source of the Fishing & Marine Industry
WordPress Ads